Australian Council of State School Organisations Limited



One voice for every child in public education

ACSSO welcomes new President and Board Members

As a result of today's Annual General Meeting and Board Meeting, we are pleased to welcome Sharron Healy as President and Board Chair of the Australian Council of State School Organisations. "Sharron has been a member of ACSSO's Executive and then Board for the past decade. She brings to the position a wealth of experience as the past President of Parents Victoria and having served on School Councils and Parent Clubs at her three children's public schools. We are very pleased she has accepted the role" said Dianne Giblin, CEO ACSSO

The Board also welcomes two new Directors. Sally Whelan has been nominated from P&C's Qld where she is currently serving as the Deputy President of their Board. Sally brings her passion and experience of rural and remote education to the table. From Tasmania, Neil Myers is a father of two and nominated to the Board by the Tasmanian Association of State School Organisations (TASSO). He has a passion for equity in resourcing in our public schools and adds further to the voice for greater funding.

We farewell and thank the retiring directors Kevan Goodworth OAM and Jared Dickason. Kevan has been with ACSSO for the past 7 years and a previous Board Chair / President with a vast experience in education both in Australia and overseas. Jared joined the Board last year but will now concentrate his efforts to leading the TASSO Board.

Sadly our 2019-2020 President and Chair, Andrew Bidwell also leaves the organisation. "His leadership was calm, considered and insightful in a year that was fraught with challenges. Our thanks to Andrew – we will miss his great humour, sound advice and wise leadership" Ms Giblin said

As part of today's AGM, the organisation also paid tribute to three ACSSO greats that passed this year - Susan Ryan AO, first ACSSO Executive Officer who went on to enter politics and make her mark for Women and the aged in Australia; Shirley Berg OAM, former NSW Fed President and ACSSO Vice President – passionate founding member of the infamous Defence of Government Schools (D.O.G.S) and Graeme Evans, former ACSSO Vice President known for putting the "C" in P&C and ensuring we all remember our base.

"We stand on the shoulders of giants; their contributions laid the foundations and building blocks that contributed to making ACSSO the proud organisation it is today" Ms Giblin concluded

For further contact Dianne Giblin AM October 31, 2020

ACSSO CEO 0418470604

DIA RELAS